OK, I’m A Google Academy Wannabe Too

Despite the fact that some commentators are beginning to have qualms about the burgeoning size of Google one of the most impressive aspects of Google’s many offerings is their recognition of and support for education. Google Apps for Education is arguably the most significant opportunity for students, schools and education systems on the web at the moment. Even if you are not using this service Google For Educators has links to an expanding set of resources for teachers including posters, sample activities, tutorials as well as the opportunity to join the Google Teacher Community. If you haven’t checked out any of these options can I suggest that you do so.

One of the other support opportunities Google offers is their Google Academies.

The Google Teacher Academy is a FREE professional development experience designed to help primary and secondary educators from around the globe get the most from innovative technologies. Each Academy is an intensive, one-day event where participants get hands-on experience with Google’s free products and other technologies, learn about innovative instructional strategies, receive resources to share with colleagues, and immerse themselves in an innovative corporate environment.

Previous academies have only been conducted in the US but this year Google has scheduled an academy in Sydney in April. Fifty teachers will be selected to attend based on answers given in an online submission as well as a one minute video developed either around the theme of “Motivation and Learning” or “Classroom Innovation”. Numerous members of my online network have made application and it is interesting to do a search on YouTube for “Google Academy” to view some of these as well as those of American teachers from previous academies. It’s really fascinating not only to get a “look in” at what other teachers are doing in their classrooms and beyond. It’s also fascinating to see how the movies have been constructed. Some, (perhaps to my detriment 🙂 ), are really creative.

Probably just so I can get at least one embed of my video, here’s my composition, what do you think?

This entry was posted in Google, YouTube and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to OK, I’m A Google Academy Wannabe Too

  1. Celia says:

    When I see that ….. I wish I was creative and clever enough to apply ! A great summary of why I like blogs and twitter etc etc.

    Good luck

  2. johnp says:

    Hey Celia, Thanks for the kind words but I had plenty of input and help to get this together and when I look at some other vids I realise the limits to my creativity :). Everyone has to start somewhere though. BTW, (it may be too late for this one as submissions close today) but for future reference on Google Academy, they are not just looking for high flyers or geeks, (just as well in my case), but rather a mix of teachers who are at different stages in their use of tech. Check out some of the other GA movies on YouTube and give it a go next time :).

  3. allanahphoto says:

    Unfortunately I am on my Air without Flash so can’t view your video. There are lots of fabulous applicants. Google will have a hard job deciding who to pick.

    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

