2007 K-12 Online Conference Voki Coding

I have had a couple of queries from a few people regarding the embedding of Vokis into edublogs blogs. The code that Voki generates for WordPress has some problems and you need to take the URL from this code and place it in another code string that will work in edublogs. To this end I have prepared a “cheat sheet” that shows the process I use with my students. These notes have been uploaded to my box.net account to be used as you wish.

Note though they are super appealing to children, you must complete an enrollment form that states you are over 13 years of age. In order to promote good internet citizenship I always insist that my student’s parents sign up for the voki account.

For those who haven’t yet seen a voki here is one that I prepared earlier as part of my preparation for a presentation that I am getting ready for the 2007 K-12 online conference. My presentation is titled “Me Blog? No WAY!” and seeks to look at the reasons why people don’t blog. As part of my prep for the conference I would love to know like my voki friend, the reasons that my fellow teaching colleagues have for not getting into blogs, wikis or anything else Web 2.0. Feel free to add a comment as you wish.

go_away_voki.jpg
Blogs, I’ll just wait till it goes away.

This entry was posted in blogs, k-12 conference, Tools. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2007 K-12 Online Conference Voki Coding

  1. Excellent. Thanks for sharing the embedding tips. I will put those to good use.

  2. AllanahK says:

    Hey there,

    I don’t recall you saying that you were doing a K12 presentation.
    Well done you!

    I can’t think of any reasons why a well-adjusted person might not want to blog.

    I think a conspiracy theorist with paranoid tendencies might think someone was stalking them by publishing on line, but most people like to express themselves in some way, maybe through art, music, writing, photography, movement or whatever and having an audience that gives positive feedback is generally rewarding.

  3. Nadine says:

    Hi Again!
    Your voki is interesting!
    If you do know how to place a voki on your blog, how do you do it?
    Can you please tell me in easy steps how to put it on my blog?
    I am hoping to have one!
    Bye! 😉

Leave a Reply

